Tennis Prose



USA Davis Cup Team Named

Major changes were made to the United States Davis Cup team following its unceremonious 2022 ouster.

Top ranked American Taylor Fritz and Jack Sock will not be returning to Davis Cup duty in 2023. The team will consist of Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Mackenzie McDonald, Austin Krajicek and Rajeev Ram who were named to the U.S. Davis Cup team by new U.S Davis Cup captain Bob Bryan and the United States Tennis Association. The new squad will compete in the 2023 Davis Cup Finals – “group stage” matches September 12-17 in Split, Croatia on an indoor hard court surface.

The new Davis Cup “group stage” consists of four groups of four nations competing to advance to the eight-nation knockout stage that will crown this year’s Davis Cup champion November 21-26 in Malaga, Spain. Team USA has been selected to compete in “Group D” in Split, Croatia and will play Croatia, Finland and the Netherlands in a round robin competition. The top two finishers in the Group advance to Malaga for Finals. Each matchup is a best-of-three tie featuring two singles and one doubles match.

Paul, Tiafoe and Ram are Davis Cup veterans, McDonald and Krajicek both made their Davis Cup debuts earlier this year in February in the qualifying round victory vs Uzbekistan in Tashkent. Krajicek and Ram clinched the victory vs Uzbekistan in the doubles.

New captain Bob Bryan replaced Mardy Fish.

· · · · · · ·

Comments are closed.



Find it!

Copyright 2010
To top