Tennis Prose



2024 Hall of Fame Nominees

Indian tennis great Leander Paes is one of six nominees in the Player Category for the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s ballot for the Class of 2024. In addition to Paes, Cara Black, Ana Ivanović, Carlos Moyá, Daniel Nestor and Flavia Pennetta return to the ballot in the Player Category.

The Player Category recognizes ATP and WTA players who have achieved a distinguished record of competitive achievement at the highest international level. Induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame is the ultimate honor in tennis, representing a sum of the honoree’s achievements and impact as being at the highest level in the sport.

Vijay Amritraj of India and Richard Evans of the United Kingdom are candidates in the Contributor Category. The Contributor Category is considered every two years, and it recognizes true pioneers, visionary leaders, or individuals/groups who have made a transcendent impact on the sport.

• Vijay Amritraj has broken barriers and worked to spread the sport of tennis on and off the court. As a player in the 1970s and 1980s, his success on court helped to popularize tennis in India and on the Asian continent.

• Richard Evans is a renowned tennis journalist and historian, he has spent a lifetime contributing to the sport’s growth and global reach. During his career, he has reported on over 200 Grand Slams and authored 23 books.

The Contributor Category will not be part of Fan Voting, but will be decided upon only by the Official Voting Group, which is comprised of tennis experts, media, historians, and Hall of Famers.

· · ·

Comments are closed.



Find it!

Copyright 2010
To top