Sep/18

11

Opinion: In defense of Mouratoglou and Serena


By Richard Pagliaro

I think Patrick’s a good coach.

Serena has won more majors after 30 than any champion in history and part – certainly not all but part – of that is his influence. Even basic things like getting her to change the racquet and strings was a huge benefit for her.

Also, the net skills she showed winning 24 of 28 points at net vs. Sevastova was the best I’ve ever seen her play at net in a singles match and that’s a result of his influence.

As for if he ever held an ATP Ranking point, who really cares? Bollettieri coached 10 world No. 1 players never held a ranking point, Harry Hopman never held a ranking point, Robert Lansdorp never held a ranking point, Martina Hingis’ mom was denied shot to play pro ball a great coach, etc.

Also, I respect Patrick was honest and admitted on ESPN yes he tried to coach.

It’s like throwing a beanball in baseball – No one ever admits it and he not only admitted it he pulled the curtain down from the charade saying everyone knows Uncle Toni coached from stands for years.

Where he screwed up, in my opinion, was giving her the signal in the first place because:

1. She was on opposite end so couldn’t see him anyway.
2. She said afterward they have no hand signals so she would not have known what to look for.

Serena was totally out of line and behaved like a diva demanding an apology, but the idea this guy making a hand gesture she can’t even see is hit for coaching in a major final for a player who NEVER uses on-court coaching is just crazy to be called.

I’m not making an alibi for Serena she was wrong and he was wrong to do it but I really believe he knew she was going down to Osaka and figured: I’ve got to try something.

The shame is Osaka, in my opinion, would have swept Serena with or without the circus implosion but now some will say if Ramos didn’t step in Serena could have come back. I think Osaka would have swept her either way with or without the arguing Osaka took it to her just like Marat Safin took it to Pete Sampras in the 2000 US Open final.

So when I see people talking aboout how Serena was victimized – Wrong!

Osaka was the victim because she thoroughly outplayed Serena, completely dominated the match and totally deserved to win.

· · ·

46 comments

  • Mr X · September 11, 2018 at 4:26 pm

    “I think deep down Serena wanted out cuz she couldn’t compete w/Osaka. Much easier to go out this way than simply getting outplayed.”

    Agreed and:

    1. Mouratoglou knew she was going down and figured desperate means call for desperate measures so he tried the coaching equivalent of a Hail Mary, got called for it, and was honest to admit it.

    2. Deep down Serena had to know she was going down unless she could play the freak out card, perhaps stall a bit, give the 20-year-old Osaka time to think “Gee, I’m gonna be serving for a Grand Slam title in a few minutes…” and get the already hugely pro-Serena crowd into it and howling even more.

    Serena has played more than 1,000 matches professionally.

    I was there in 2004 for the Serena vs. Capriati debacle and she said afterward “I know when I hit it, whether the ball is going in or out.”

    Similarly, I think she knows when she’s going down because she loses so rarely at those stages she knows when it’s happening.

    She knew Naomi had her number, she knew in 4 sets she barely had a sniff of breaking Osaka serve, she knew she was gonna lose, so she freaked out from the stress, tried to ice Osaka and then when it blew up on her they spin it as “Officials are sexist” and heroic serena made a stand against the sexist chair umpire.

    I’m not saying she coldly calculated the entire imbroglio, but I think heat of the moment she figured let’s play this controversy card what the hell got nothing to lose.

    The reality is the 20 year old was kicking the crap out of the 36, soon to be 37 year old superstar for the second time in a row.

    The harsh reality of sport is too tough for some to accept especially after they’re selling you 2 weeks of SuperMom Serena in commercials, on ESPN, on USOpen.org. etc. so its tough when they sell the narrative before the final and this 20-year-old younger version of Serena shows up beating the bejeezus out of Serena.

    That’s sport.

    All of us have gotten our butts kicked by 20 year-olds before.

    Like the young Jimmy Connors kicked 39-year-old Ken Rosewall’s butt in ’74 Open final then a 39-year-old Connors got his butt kicked by Jim Courier in US Open semis 18 years later.

    When it happens to 23-time Grand Slam champion Serena in the US Open final everyone scrambles for an alternate reason.

    Like Freud said: “Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.”

    Like Serena always says “it is what it is”

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 12, 2018 at 12:12 am

    Good stuff, Richard, although I think Mouratoglou really deserves more blame than he has gotten.

    I think all the feminists have a point in using sexism to defend Serena but in the sense that Mouratoglou is getting protected. In reality it was a man who created a problem for Serena but it was Mouratoglou and not Ramos. That is why Mouratoglou was so quick to admit to coaching to protect her.

    Of course, Mouratoglou as a former paramour was coming to her rescue since she was a damsel in distress. That was why Serena was so vociferous against being coached because she still has deep feelings for Mouratoglou as well.

    The more you unpeel this onion, you find more layers. Scoop is correct that the Mouratoglou/Serena relationship deserves examination.

  • catherine · September 12, 2018 at 2:21 am

    Duke – Patrick and Serena’s relationship doesn’t ‘deserve examination’ – it’s a personal matter, both are still alive and Serena is now married. Do you want to turn T-P into a gossip sheet now politics is banned ?

    It would be great if we can move on the from this match, it’s over, and notice that tennis is actually being played elsewhere in the world.

    (in Quebec Sabalenka loses to Lepchenko – a surprise result and I hope not a signpost for the future – more inconsistency in the WTA)

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 12, 2018 at 2:35 am

    Catherine, I meant their working relationship moving forward since obviously Mouratoglou screwed up in a major fashion and normally that would have consequences.

    Anyway here is a nice Naomi interview…

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnWeL45dlMc

  • catherine · September 12, 2018 at 3:03 am

    On a general note – I’m not responsible for this site, obviously, I’m only a contributor – but I think in view of the recent media credential problem, and the explanation for it, it’s clear that T-P is being read (I won’t say ‘monitored’) by individuals who don’t appear on it. So common sense surely would suggest we’re careful about comments and speculation about people’s private lives, not just for fear of libel but because T-P doesn’t want to get the reputation of being an online place where anything can be said about anyone. There are plenty of those.

    And organisations like the USTA are probably quite happy to find reasons for denying credentials, if only for the reason it they get far more requests than they can possibly fulfil.

  • catherine · September 12, 2018 at 3:10 am

    Duke – I understand what you mean and I suppose we’re looking towards the end of Serena/Patrick connection but it all depends of where Serena wants to go and how long she wants to go on playing.

    I admit I was surprised that Patrick felt it necessary to do what he did.

    My comment above wasn’t specifically aimed at any one in particular.

  • Hartt · September 12, 2018 at 7:52 am

    Outside of reading stuff about Naomi I have moved on from the USO final.

    My attention is firmly on the Davis Cup tie that starts on Friday. I bought my tickets the second they went on sale to the general public, so I should have a good seat. And the stadium is just a medium size, 7000 seats, so the atmosphere will be great. Although I did buy ear plugs. Davis Cup ties are notoriously noisy, and Pospisil’s brothers will probably bring their blasted drums.

    But I am beyond excited to see Milos, Shapo and Daniel Nestor (in his final match before retirement) up close over 3 days! Felix is on the team but likely won’t play, except perhaps in a dead rubber (or if someone is injured). Captain Frank Dancevic said this is the strongest DC team Canada has ever had, and of course he is right.

    The team for the Netherlands will feature Haase and de Bekker, solid players. But I think Canada has to be a big favourite. 🙂

  • catherine · September 12, 2018 at 8:29 am

    Hartt – you are so right, that was then and this is now. Your Davis Cup team is really strong and I can see them running through this tie. I assume you bought tickets for every day.

    The only bits of the USO I’m thinking about are the way some names didn’t come up to scratch – Kasatkina, Muguruza, Svitolina, Halep are examples from the women’s side.

    (Angie doesn’t count because she won W’don and had few points to defend so moves up to No 3. She might want to be No 1 again although I can’t think why)

    Muguruza surely needs to make some changes, maybe drastic ones. Daria is younger but her game seems to have slipped a gear. Just completely erratic.

    Asian events are often strange – don’t always count for much in the long term although Singapore can be interesting. Last year there I think.

  • H · September 12, 2018 at 9:40 am

    Catherine,
    Yes I did get tickets for all 3 days. This fall will see the last of the best of 5 DC matches before the new format kicks in. So there will be a LOT of tennis. My only concern is I have very long legs, so I have problems having to sit in a confined space for long periods. But will manage somehow.

    I like both Muguruza and Kasatkina, so have been disappointed with their slumps. I hope both can turn things around, because they are so much fun to watch when they are playing well.

    In Quebec City 3 Canadians are through to the 2nd round – Leylah Annie Fernandez, who just turned 16 a few days ago, Rebecca Marino, continuing her strong comeback, and Francoise Abanda. Watson, Puig, Broady and McHale are also still in the tourney. Unfortunately Safarova lost to Jabeur.

  • George · September 12, 2018 at 10:29 am

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 12, 2018 at 10:41 am

    The cartoon of the abhorrent behavior of Williams is accurate by Mark Knight. The NYT is trying to racialize it, that’s what they do. The TRUTH is hate to those who hate the truth. It’s an excellent and accurate cartoon by Knight.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 12, 2018 at 11:29 am

    Yes the cartoon is excellent. And he did one on Kyrgios as well. Yet the MSM is crying racism and sexism, as you would expect and the cartoonist has been chased off Twitter and suffered threats to his family.

    It is unfortunate that people can’t handle the truth.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 12, 2018 at 12:29 pm

    Duke, and this cartoon caper also shows which group of people the NYT wants to protect and which group the NYT has an agenda to attack and vilify

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 12, 2018 at 3:03 pm

    Scoop you are right. I also think people missed the point of the cartoon and its cleverness. There is a pacifier on the court along with the broken racket. It depicts Serena as a whining baby – which she was that day.

    Then the caption by “Ramos” was “Can you just let her win?” The implication was obvious that Serena is a sore loser.

    Labeling it as racist and sexist misses the point and is a tacit approval of this behavior. Tennis is supposed to have the highest level of sportsmanship and instead we saw the worst. That is what this carton is criticizing.

    I don’t see how anyone can turn it into anything else but nothing surprises me.

    Scoop said in the immediate aftermath that the majority would rush to Serena’s defense and that is exactly what happened. In the Carillo interview, it was noted that her opinion was in the minority. Look I won’t discuss politics and I wish the media coverage was fair but you have to admit that Scoop and me are both right on this one.

  • Thomas Tung · September 12, 2018 at 3:57 pm

    The big news for me (post US Open) is that a certain N.Djokovic has signed up for Laver Cup — with that in mind, I think “Captain” John McEnroe has about the worst possible scenario. 2 of the greatest players (Fed/Joker) of all time, on the same team, and getting along ok with each other? Team World is looking to salvage what they can from a near-certain loss.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 12, 2018 at 4:09 pm

    I wonder if Fed will show up or if there is an injury. This Laver Cup if it happens with Fed, will show us just if there’s any warmth between the two. How these two treat each other will be very interesting, especially if they play doubles together.

  • Hartt · September 12, 2018 at 4:54 pm

    I think Fed will play unless he is on crutches. This is his baby.

    Last year Team Europe had both Fed and Rafa, so it looked like the Team World did not have a prayer, but they made it a close competition in the end. The same thing could happen this year.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 12, 2018 at 7:27 pm

    Does anyone know what ties like Canada v Netherlands means since there is no world group anymore?

    Opelka stomped DY again today. The DY slide shows no signs of ending.

  • Hartt · September 12, 2018 at 8:25 pm

    These ties determine which teams will take part in the February matches that in turn will determine which will play in the week-long tourney at the end of the season.

    In Canada’s case, the team must either win this tie or finish in the top 3 of their division. They are 2nd to Argentina, so being in the top 3 should not be a problem.

  • catherine · September 13, 2018 at 2:04 am

    My feeling about the Laver Cup is that it will carry on for a few years and then as interest fades the money will move away and it will die.

    What does it actually stand for ? It’s basically an exhibition.

  • catherine · September 13, 2018 at 2:38 am

    For anyone interested in the conflicts and personalities around women’s tennis more than half a century ago I’d recommend Julie Heldman’s book ‘Driven’, an autobiography dominated by the great Gladys – revealed as a frenzied alcoholic unloving mother whose dominating personality shredded, in different ways, the lives of her two daughters and her husband.

    It’s a tough read, long, impossibly detailed about ancient tennis matches, mainly frank about friends and colleagues, but not completely.

    Julie endured a massive manic-depressive breakdown in middle age and survives now thanks to shedloads of heavyweight medication – her book is clearly a work of therapy.

    Could all this happen today ? Of course – how much do we know about the true backgrounds of all the players we discuss so freely ? Nothing.

  • Dan Markowitz · September 13, 2018 at 5:22 am

    Duke, you and Scoop keep saying the media is biased and of course there’s a left-slanting media and a right-slanting media as well, but when it comes to this Serena-Ramos incident, I think we see that both Martina N and Mary C have come out critical of Serena. These are two of the biggest and most important women’s voices in the game and they came out against Serena in this incident.

    But you and Scoop keep blathering on about how people can’t stand the truth. Please, there are a lot of truth’s in this incident, it’s not a clear cut situation and Serena’s emotions and remarks can be viewed from her spectrum as well. You make it sound like there’s one truth, when there rarely ever is.

    I don’t personally find the cartoon racist. I find it kind of funny because Serena in my opinion, did act like a big baby or one that just can’t be pacified. And the comment, “Will you let her win already,” I think is right on the mark, because it seems to me and other observers, that Serena’s antics were partially ignited by the fact that she realized she couldn’t beat Osaka.

    But Serena’s truths and what really upset her were: 1) she didn’t like being accused of being a cheater; 2. she comes from a background, maybe a cultural milieu where people express themselves and Ramos was being rather tight-lipped beside doling out the warning, penalty points and games; 3) She felt it was sexist that Ramos docked her a game for calling him a “thief” something a male player probably wouldn have gotten away without receiving a game penalty.

    I don’t think you can avoid looking at Serena’s actions coming through the prism of Serena wanting to act and be viewed as a “strong woman.” I don’t think we have on this site, a commenter who comes from the same background as Serena, a strong black female. And this is what defines Serena and boiled over on the court when she felt, rightly or wrongly, that Ramos was unfairly targeting her and disrespecting her. I know no one likes being disrespected. Just look at Scoop’s many posts about his matches where he feels he’s been disrespected by his opponent.

    This theme came out in Serena’s press conference after the match when she said:

    “But I’m going to continue to fight for women and to fight for us to have (equality). Like, (Alizé) Cornet should be able to take her shirt off without getting a fine. This is outrageous, you know? And I just feel like the fact that I have to go through this is just an example for the next person that has emotions and that want to express themselves, and they want to be a strong woman. And they’re going to be allowed to do that because of today. Maybe it didn’t work out for me, but it’s going to work out for the next person.”

    So it’s not so simple as to say there’s one truth in this incident and I think the many different responses to how it’s unfolded show that.

  • George · September 13, 2018 at 5:57 am

    Some of us have encountered the “strong black female” in the workplace and discovered that they can do no wrong…

  • Hartt · September 13, 2018 at 6:56 am

    Yes, the Laver Cup is basically an exhibition, but why is that so terrible? Last year it provided entertaining, high-quality tennis. The players took it seriously and played their best tennis. The format worked well, the matches were a reasonable length, and the scoring system ensured that the Sunday matches were relevant. People were certain that Team Europe would run away with the tourney, but as it turned out, the result was far from certain.

    I enjoyed watching it last year and look forward to seeing it again this year.

  • catherine · September 13, 2018 at 7:34 am

    Hartt – I’m not criticising the Laver Cup so much as saying that there’s no real reason for it to be there – what with other international competitions already existing, and I fear that if interest in it flags then the money will disappear quickly.

    Meanwhile, yes, enjoy the LC while it’s here.

  • catherine · September 13, 2018 at 7:43 am

    George

    Some of us have encountered the ‘strong white male’ in the workplace and discovered they can do no wrong.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 8:14 am

    Serena was a crazy black female on the court Saturday night. The cartoon captured the truth and essence of sore loser Serena perfectly. The truth is not racist. Let’s hope Serena apologizes for this dreadful meltdown and can refind her top form physically and mentally. It’s a crying shame Osaka played the match of her life amidst all of Serena’s chaos and had to have her crowning moment of her life rained on by a 36 year old idiot. Crazy is a part of tennis, just like grace and skill. There is a famous t shirt that says: “I play tennis to get the crazy out.” Serena got hers out on Saturday night. Let’s hope every last drop of it.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 11:26 am

    Dan, you are right but two things. You have to distinguish between the tennis media – which has accurately assessed the situation – and the general media, which compares everything to racism, sexism, etc. Like the outrage to the cartoon, which has been excessive and resulted in death threats to the cartoonist and his family. Are you telling me that is not over the top?

    Nobody threatened Serena.

    Number two, even if I am a Serena defender and say that Ramos created the whole mess, I should defend her bad behavior? Or it’s an appropriate response if you are black and get a bad call to lose your mind? Or if you are a mother it is appropriate behavior?

    Some people are looking at the behavior and some people are trying to justify it. But I am sorry you cannot justify the behavior. Serena should apologize but she won’t. That’s how it stands.

  • Daniel Markowitz · September 13, 2018 at 11:28 am

    Scoop,

    Tone it down. Calling Serena an idiot is really offensive and I think you should tone it down. Serena is clearly not an idiot, in fact, she’s the most successful female athlete of all time and is very intelligent, speaks French fluently apparently and has cultivated her career very well.

    Calling Serena an idiot is not only wrong, it illustrates your opinion and observations on tennis and players is far off base.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 11:51 am

    USTA chief @katadams68 overheard apologizing to chair umpire Carlos Ramos for the fallout from US Open final at draw for Davis Cup SF draw between US and Croatia in Zadar

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 11:57 am

    Dan: USTA chief @katadams68 overheard apologizing to chair umpire Carlos Ramos for the fallout from US Open final at draw for Davis Cup SF draw between US and Croatia in Zadar. There is a photo of them together in Croatia with the tweet. Very telling that Adams defends Serena in public but in private she apologizes for her outrageous, crazy, idiotic actions.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 12:53 pm

    Make no mistake about it Dan, Adams would only apologize for idiotic irrational very bad actions and behavior by Serena. Time for Serena to make a public apology next.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 3:10 pm

    Dan you are said rightly or wrongly Serena felt targeted by Ramos. Well someone had to decide right is wrong. Anyone who knows tennis knows she was wrong.

    The problem is anyone can accuse anyone of anything. What if I said Catherine is anti-men? See how it works. Then I can provide some cockamamie reason for that. And no. I don’t believe that I am just providing you an example.

    Why defend her? Why excuse the behavior? The truth is this wasn’t about Serenas character but about her not being good enough on the court. Bryan Early told her on court, You knew the risk.

    She wasn’t so out of control either because she wanted to undermine Ramos authority and thought since she didn’t swear it would be ok. Except Ramos didn’t see it that way and abuse doesn’t only mean swearing.

    Serena doesn’t get to be black only when she is ‘victimized’ but all the time. She was an unhinged black woman, also an unhinged mother. If that behavior wasn’t idiotic, how would you characterize it. Plus it’s not like she hadn’t acted crazy before at the Open. It’s just indefensible yet the mainstream can excuse any behavior.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 3:13 pm

    Scoop she won’t apologize, you know that l. She is above the law. It’s why she could attack Sandgren without repercussions too.
    Sandgren didn’t do anything meanwhile.

    I am sure Nike will make an ad campaign off oof this.

  • Doug Day · September 13, 2018 at 5:50 pm

    Dan- Im glad when players divine
    spectrums,cultural milieus, many truths… so you believe the personal is empirical? I know its fun to toy with social theory but the passion part of your compassion is showing. We’ve got a game to conduct. Not a french morality play. That road leads to the guillotine. Did you know in 1789 the commoner’s first act when King Louie defaulted them was “The Tennis Court Oath”?

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 7:12 pm

    Even more disingenuous was Serena’s comment ‘I’d rather lose.’ It’s not based in any form of reality since we have never seen evidence of that at all. That we are debating the merits of these comments only indicates the sad state of affairs.

    Some interesting comments from U.S. Davis Cup team, according to AP:

    “It’s been polarized and in some ways politicized,” U.S. captain Jim Courier said. “But we have no doubt that Carlos was just enforcing the rules as he sees them.”

    “Look, I don’t want this to come out the wrong way,” Steve Johnson said. “But he enforced rules that have been enforced on me over the years.

    “I’ve never been called for coaching, but the racket abuse, the verbal abuse,” Johnson added. “That’s just part of the sport. I think a lot of it maybe got over-amplified because it was the finals of the U.S. Open.”

    “He’s always been a fair, level-headed guy and made a decision in the heat of the moment. If it was wrong or right, I’m not the judge,” said Mike Bryan.

    “I think we’re all cognizant of the fact that three strikes and you’re going to get a game penalty,” Bryan added. “I don’t think we would ever try to push it that far, especially in this Davis Cup format – we’re not going to dock our country a game. You don’t really crack rackets or berate umpires in this format; you kind of look to your team for support.”

    Ryan Harrison said the women’s final “was a very touchy situation.”

    “It’s hard to say one side or the other without causing a big stir,” Harrison said. “In a situation where we know Serena is unbelievable; she’s iconic; and we know that Carlos is there because he’s worthy of being there for those matches.

    “I know Carlos and I know he’s not looking to put himself in a difficult position. I truly believe he was trying to do what he felt like was right at the time and always in heated situations it’s going to be a very sticky, sticky spot whenever it’s in a Grand Slam final like that.”

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 8:10 pm

    Courier dumped hard on Sandgren, saying that that situation, “gave tennis a bad look.” Did he go so far as to criticize Serena’s behavior to that degree? Looks like he didn’t as his quotes are milder. See the special soft treatment for Serena but the harsh rebukes on Sandgren?

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 8:55 pm

    The Sandgren issue was instructive because Serena made him apologie for a Tweet that was concocted by the fake tennis player Darko Grncarov, if you remember that story. This Grncarvos fanned the flames and made Sandgren look bad and Courier and U.S. media ate it up. Yet Grncarov was a total fraud.

    From the Slate article below…

    Darko Grncarov wrote on Twitter that he was infuriated by Sandgren, whom he called an “idiot.” Grncarov, a 20-year-old from Macedonia, also tweeted that he would’ve refused to play in Margaret Court Arena because her views were “totally unacceptable and disgusting.” Grncarov won admirers on social media for “leading the way on social issues.”

    If Grncarov seems too good to be true, that’s because much of his story isn’t true. The legend of Darko Grncarov is fake news, from the country that helped invent the phenomenon.

    https://slate.com/culture/2018/02/how-darko-grncarov-tricked-serena-williams-and-the-bbc.html

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 13, 2018 at 9:25 pm

    Duke; Zero chance that Kat Adams and Bill Jean King would have publicly supported and defended Tennys Sandgren if he abused and bullied a female chair umpire at the US Open like Serena did. Zero chance.

  • catherine · September 13, 2018 at 9:55 pm

    Duke – don’t drag me into this please.

  • Duke Carnoustie · September 13, 2018 at 11:43 pm

    I’m amazed people have reading comprehension issues on what I write…

  • catherine · September 14, 2018 at 1:57 am

    I don’t have reading comprehension issues. I just don’t want my name mentioned in any way re this argument about Serena in which I have actually no interest whatsoever.
    There are plenty of other names you can use.

    And if you don’t believe what you write why write it ?

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 14, 2018 at 9:00 am

    Let’s just hope Serena comes clean and apologizes publicly like Kat Adams did privately to Ramos, so all her defenders in the media and Tennis Channel can stop wasting their time defending Serena and blaming Ramos. If Serena fails to apologize for her idiotic actions, I would not be surprised if not only the umpires boycott to work her matches, but some or many fans opt to boycott watching her live and on TV. Charlton Heston told Gar Mulloy that he was so deeply offended by McEnroe’s antics that he was even considering never watching or playing tennis again. Mulloy revealed this in his book.

  • Sam · September 16, 2018 at 1:45 pm

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 16, 2018 at 5:29 pm

    My response to this article: BOOooooooooooooooooooooooo.

  • Scoop Malinowski · September 16, 2018 at 5:32 pm

    Querrey beating Cilic in four sets in the Davis Cup semi with an 0-6 h2h vs the Croat has to be the biggest upset of the century. Incredible win by Sam. Also an incredible effort by Tiafoe to force Coric to five sets, Coric is one of the best Davis Cup hero players in the world right now, maybe the best. Congrats to Hsieh for winning her third career WTA title in Hiroshima vs Anisimova.

<<

>>

Find it!

Copyright 2010
Tennis-Prose.com
To top