Tennis Prose



Players Who Hold Wins Over The New No. 1

By Scoop Malinowski

Daniil Medvedev is the new ATP emperor but his storied career which began in 2011 when he earned his first ATP ranking points, endured plenty of tough losses. Let’s take a look at some of the unlikely ATP players who hold victories over the 26 year old “King of the Court” on his journey up the ATP hierarchy…

In 2015 Medvedev lost to Dmitri Tursunov, Johannes Haertels, Jan Mertl, Harry Bourchier, Jordan Thompson, Yuki Bhambri, Egor Gerasimov, Denys Molchanov, Maxime Teixeira, Jon Eyserric, Jordi Samper-Montana, Alexis Musialek, Luca Pancaldi, Danie Munoz de la Nava, Frances Tiafoe, Romain Arneodo, Ronan Joncour, David Perez Sanz, Julian Dubail, Quentin Halys, Constant Lestienne, Sam Barry, Pierre Hugues-Herbert, Oriol Roca Batalla and Vaclav Safranek.

2016: Marius Copil twice, Kevin Krawietz, Stephane Robert, Jan L Struff, Daniel Brands, Alexander Zverev, Pedja Krstin, Florian Mayer, Denis Istomin, Daniel Traver, Marco Trungelliti, Marcus Willis, Ryan Harrison, Adrian Mannarino, Guido Pella, Rogerio Dutra Silva, Donald Young twice, Marcel Granollers. Evgeny Donskoy, Aslan Karatsev, Julian Cagnina, Uladzimir Ignatik, Hugo Nys, Mikhail Youzhny, and Jason Jung.

2017: Hyeon Chung, Borna Coric, Paul-Henri Mathieu, Yannick Maden, Mirza Basic, Lucas Pouille twice, Alexander Dolgopolov, Thomas Fabbiano, Denis Shapovalov, Kyle Edmund, Fabio Fognini, Adrian Mannarino, Alexander Zverev, Ruben Bemelmans, Novak Djokovic twice, Grigor Dimitrov, Ivo Karlovic, Benjamin Bonzi, Gilles Simon, Laslo Djere, Feli Lopez, Mikhail Youzhny, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Jo W Tsonga, Ernesto Escobedo, Roberto Bautista Agut.

2018: Borna Coric three ties, Roger Federer twice, Karen Khachanov, Domi Thiem, Ilya Ivashka, Alexander Zverev twice, Denis Shapovalov, Adrian Mannarino, Guido Pella. Steve Johnson, Jeremy Chardy, Fernando Verdasco, Lucas Pouille, Robin Haase, Kyle Edmund, Joao Sousa, Kei Nishikori, Pablo Carreno Busta, Andreas Seppi, Richard Gasquet, Hyeon Chung, Marinko Matosevic.

2019: Alexander Zverev, Rafael Nadal three times, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Chardy, Nick Kyrgios twice, Gilles Simon, David Goffin, Pouille, Pierre Hugues Herbert, Guido Pella, Domi Thiem, Dusan Lajovic, Roger Federer, Filip Krajinovic, Richard Berankis, Gael Monfils, Novak Djokovic, Kei Nishikori.

2020: Kevin Anderson, Reilly Opelka, Marton Fucsovics, Ugo Humbert, Thiem, Agut, Simon, Vasek Pospisil, Stan Wawrinka, Djokovic.

2021: Zverev, Djokovic twice, Dimitrov, Rublev, PC Busta, Hubi Hurkacz, JL Struff, Tsitsipas, Karatsev, Cristian Garin, RB Agut, Lajovic.

2022: Nadal, Humbert.

· · · ·


  • ringo · February 25, 2022 at 1:45 pm

    When are we getting a facing Daniil book?

  • Scoop Malinowski · February 25, 2022 at 2:34 pm

    Ringo, Haven’t even started that yet, at least two years. On Facing Monica Seles and Capriati now. Slow progress.

  • Sam · February 26, 2022 at 4:37 pm

    So . . . the new “number one” just rolls over to Nadal in the semifinals?

    Was Med just having a bad day or what? 😏 Funny how he totally brought it against Djokovic in New York, but has been rather unremarkable ever since. 🤔

  • Scoop Malinowski · February 26, 2022 at 6:59 pm

    Sam, I think he subconsciously tanked. He even said he didn’t have enough energy, but why not? You would think he would be at triple energy and intensity to exact revenge on Rafa for what happened in the AO final. Trying to solve the Rafa puzzle and prove he’s the worthy deserving no. 1. Maybe he’s distracted by what’s happening in Russia with Ukraine. It’s a sad time for Medvedev, the week he achieve the best accomplishment in his career, the world media is demonizing his home nation. It’s got to be the worst time to be a famous celebrity Russian right now.



Find it!

Copyright 2010
To top