Tennis Prose



AO22: Barty Proves That Quitters Can Win

I saw Ash Barty qualify for the 2014 US Open, where she beat Caitlin Whoriskey, Melanie Oudin and Noppawon Leertcheewakam. In the first round of the main draw she lost to Barbora Strycova 63 61 and decided she was burnt out and it was time to take a long break from tennis. Barty was just 18 years old and a quitter.

Barty returned at 2016 Wimbledon qualies where she lost in the second round. “After a break and trying other things (like semi pro cricket), I missed tennis and decided that I wanted to come back,” she said.

Then at 2017 AO she reached the third round of main draw and her career has skyrocketed since. She is the dominant WTA player now with three Grand Slam titles in her possession – 2019 Roland Garros, 2021 Wimbledon and 2022 AO.

Yesterday she dominated the fierce American Danielle Collins 62 76, overcoiming a 0-3 deficit in the second set. Barty is as smooth as silk on the court with the best mechanics, serve and slice backhands in the business. Collins admitted after the match during the trophy presentation that she hopes she can “implement” Barty’s diverse variety of shots and skills into her own game in the future.

Barty, now 25, has now won 15 career titles in singles and over $21m in prize money.

But perhaps best of all she proved: That quitters can win too.

Nick Kyrgios is a Grand Slam champion after all. Nick and his buddy Thanassi Kokkinakis won the mens doubles title vs Ebden and Purcell. The two did a Bryan Brothers chest bump and Kokkinakis even kissed Nick on the cheek after Kokkinakis’s backhand volley winner sealed the stunning victory.

Will this Grand Slam title spark Nick to get the hunger for more Grand Slam titles and maybe even take himself seriously enough to invest all his energies into a singles Grand Slam?

Remember all the major names who never won ANY Grand Slam titles: Marcelo Rios, Tin Henman, Todd Martin, James Blake, Gael Monfils, Jo Tsonga, Marcos Bagdhatis, Guillermo Coria, Alex Corretja…

Petra Marcinko of Croatia and American Bruno Kuzuhara won the girls and boys titles, respectively.

· · · ·

Comments are closed.



Find it!

Copyright 2010
To top